Bootleg 1.jpg

LA/NY quartet BRAEVES began with childhood best friends Ryan Colt Levy and Derek Tramont, who’ve been together before the dawn of social media. Having experimented with a wide range of styles and sounds over the years, it wasn't until the addition of Thomas Killian McPhillips VII in late 2012 that things fell into place and BRAEVES was born. From there the music grew organically into their own unique blend of soulful Indie Rock and Pop that it is today, reminiscent of bands such as Local Natives, The Shins and Grizzly Bear alike. They are now joined by LA guitarist/vocalist Scott Goldbaum.

After the release of Drifting by Design in late 2014 where Indie-Music.com wrote "This feels like a much fresher, more modern version of what so many of us wish pop music would lean toward,” the band played over 25 shows at many of New York’s renowned venues such as The Studio at Webster Hall, Rough Trade, Le Poisson Rouge and Baby's All Right, as well as NYC's Northside Festival and CMJ.

Looking forward to the challenge of spreading their New York charm to the west coast, their journey has now brought them to Los Angeles, where they have recorded a new single entitled “Bitter Sea” with Dave Trumfio (Wilco, My Morning Jacket, Built to Spill) and Raymond Richards (Local Natives) that was released on June 10th, 2016. 

New music coming soon...


Ryan Colt Levy - Vocals/Guitar
Derek Tramont - Bass/Keyboard
Thomas Killian McPhillips VII - Drums/Vocals
Scott Goldbaum - Vocals/Guitar